skip to Main Content
We are currently closed.

Eugene Science Center is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors consisting of dedicated community members who are passionate about our mission and vision.

Officers of the Board

Brent Stone | Chair

Monica Careaga-Houck | Vice-Chair

Nancy Mills | Secretary

Kevin Walters | Treasurer

The Board of Directors is a volunteer, governing body that provides legal, fiducial and strategic oversight for the nonprofit organization. We seek individuals who are passionate about the community service the Museum provides and want to be a part of its success. Persons with wide knowledge of the Eugene-Springfield community or with experience in financial professions, sales, the media, fundraising or government are of particular interest.

For more information, contact Tim Scott, Executive Director at [email protected].

Board Members

Julie Coren – Grant Writer, Eugene-Springfield Youth Orchestras

Carolyn DeMarco – Scientist III, Thermo Fisher

Jennifer A. Haynes, Ph.D. – Freelance Biotech Patent Agent

Monica Careaga-Houck, Ph.D. – Retired, Biochemist

Qing Lu – Chief Financial Officer, Northwest Community Credit Union

Josh Marinacci – Senior Developer Advocate, Mozilla

Nancy S. Mills, Ph.D. – Retired, Professor of Chemistry, Trinity University

Kevin O’Brien – Owner, O’Brien Construction

Catherine Rainwater, Ph.D. – Retired, Professor of Biology – Our Lady of the Lake University

Brent Stone – Head Winemaker, King Estate Winery

Jared Swezey – CTO, UpTime Sciences

Susan Thelen – New Student Orientation Event Coordinator, University of Oregon

Kevin Walters, J.D. – Accountant, Moss Adams LLP

Advisory Board

Hon. Ann Aiken – Judge, U.S. District Court

Phyllis Brown, M.D. – Former Chief of Staff, Sacred Heart Hospital

Sarah Cheesman, Ph.D. – Development Director, Ophelia’s Place

Lynn Dierking, Ph.D. – Professor in Free-Choice Learning, Department of Science & Mathematics Education, College of Science, Oregon State University

Edward Gerdes – Director of Industrial Sales and Sourcing, Hummingbird Wholesale

Nancy Golden, Ph.D. – Chief Education Officer, Oregon

Kate James, R.Ph., FIACP – Co-owner Broadway Apothecary

William James – Co-owner Broadway Apothecary

Mauizio Paparo – Owner & Executive Chief, Excelsior Ristorante

Jean Phelps – Former Executive Director, Relief Nursery

Kitty Piercy – Former Mayor, City of Eugene

Geraldine Richmond, Ph.D. – Professor, Chemistry and Materials Science Institute, University of Oregon

Lucy Vinis – Mayor, City of Eugene

Back To Top